Tech Reference

How to soft block someone on Twitter to remove them as a follower

person looking at phone outside
A soft block on Twitter removes a user as your follower. Images By Tang Ming Tung/Getty Images
Read in app

Twitter makes it easy to block unwanted followers, but there are disadvantages to blocking.

If you block someone, they can easily tell they're blocked because they can no longer see your Twitter activity, and this can serve as a point of pride or irritation.

If you want a more subtle way to end a Twitter relationship, you can do what's commonly referred to as "soft blocking."

How to soft block someone on Twitter

To soft block someone, you simply block them as you ordinarily would, then immediately unblock them. Blocking forces the other person to unfollow you and erases your direct message history, but because you then unblock the person, they can still see your tweets, so they don't appear to be blocked. It gives the impression that they unfollowed you by accident, or perhaps due to a glitch on Twitter. 

Keep in mind that when someone is soft blocked, they can still follow you again if they choose to, so this will not necessarily end your relationship on Twitter (depending on how persistent the other person is). You still have the option to mute or block the user later. 

The steps to soft block are almost exactly the same on both the web and mobile app. 

1. Start Twitter and go to the profile page for the user you want to soft block. 

2. Select the three dots at the top of the page.

softblock
Tap the three dots at the top of the user's page.  Grace Eliza Goodwin/Business Insider

3. In the dropdown menu, choose "Block @user."

softblock2
Block the user in the usual way.  Grace Eliza Goodwin/Business Insider

4. In the pop-up window, confirm you want to block the user by selecting "Block."

softblock3
Tap "Block" in the pop-up to confirm.  Grace Eliza Goodwin/Business Insider

5. The user's profile page will now have a button marked "Blocked." Tap it and then, in the pop-up window, tap "Unblock @user." Alternatively, you can select "Undo" in the banner that immediately appears when you block the user.

softblock5
Unblock the person to complete a soft block.  Grace Eliza Goodwin/Business Insider

Related coverage from Tech Reference:

Read next

Dave Johnson is a technology journalist who writes about consumer tech and how the industry is transforming the speculative world of science fiction into modern-day real life. Dave grew up in New Jersey before entering the Air Force to operate satellites, teach space operations, and do space launch planning. He then spent eight years as a content lead on the Windows team at Microsoft. As a photographer, Dave has photographed wolves in their natural environment; he's also a scuba instructor and co-host of several podcasts. Dave is the author of more than two dozen books and has contributed to many sites and publications including CNET, Forbes, PC World, How To Geek, and Insider.